Cabinet Reshuffle: Nirmala Sitharaman Is New Defence Minister, Piyush Goyal Gets Railways

Posted September 04, 2017

Ahead of the oath taking ceremony, Prime Minister Narendra Modi met with his council of ministers for breakfast.

Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Dharmendra Pradhan, Nirmala Sitharaman and Piyush Goyal were elavated to the cabinet rank and nine fresh faces inducted as Ministers of State in a major rejig of his team by Prime Minister Narendra Modi today.

The exit of Prabhu from the railways came after last months Muzaffarnagar train accident that claimed 23 lives.

The promotion of Naqvi, Pradhan, Sitharaman and Goyal, who were all State Ministers with independent charge, is an endorsement of their good performance, official sources said.

Goyal is expected to continue the reforms initiated by Prabhu in railways and bring new ideas to the table, said Jaijit Bhattacharya, partner and head, economics, regulatory and policy advisory, KPMG in India.

R K Singh, former Home Secretary, was given charge of Power and New and Renewable Energy portfolios.

Apple's iPhone 8 event is happening on September 12th
Apple today has sent out invites to select members of the press for an upcoming event at 10:00 am (PST) on September 12th. It is expected that the company will launch iPhone 7S, iPhone 7S Plus and the anniversary edition iPhone 8 at the event.

PM Modi stripped Cabinet minister Uma Bharti of the charges of water resources, river development and Ganga rejuvenation and handed them over to Nitin Gadkari. Mr Pradhan was given the additional charge of Skill Development Ministry.

While Modi has focussed on governance, he has also taken care of the BJP's political considerations.

Alphons is a Christian from Kerala, a state where the BJP has been trying hard to emerge as a potent force.

There were no changes in the portfolios of the big three - Arun Jaitley, Sushma Swaraj and Rajnath Singh.

Suresh Prabhu, who lost his Railway portfolio, has been shifted within the Cabinet to the Commerce and Industry Ministry, earlier held by Sitharaman.

Two other new faces are Ashwini Kumar Choubey, a member of the Lok Sabha from Bihar, and Shiv Pratap Shukla from Uttar Pradesh.